Tristan’s General Tso’s Steak??

Everyone loves General Tso’s Chicken with that sweet and tangy sauce, with and an added crunch IMG_3695of fried chicken. and I decided that I was going to make this delicious meal by myself in the comfort of my own home with a few healthier options chicken being one of those things that I removed, now we could have just grilled a few chicken breasts and called it a day, but we did not have chicken breast, so I opted for  strip steak. I honestly prefer the steak as opposed to the chicken now, a lot more filling and even more savory than chicken!!! Try this recipe out for yourself at home and tell me what you think!


3 Tbl spoons of Soy Sauce
Dry Sherry or Red cooking wine ( which ever you have )
2 Tbl spoons of Vinegar ( I used apple cider vinegar that was all I had at the house, you couldn’t tell the difference )
3 Tbl spoons of Chicken stock  ( I saved some of my stock from my pho recipe and used that )
4 Tbl spoons of honey ( you can also use agave nectar/brown sugar etc )
1 Tbl spoon of cornstarch
1 Tbl spoon of sesame seed oil
2 Tsp of minced garlic
2 Tsp of fresh ginger ( I added more for an extra kick )
Half a white onion finely chopped
2 tsp of red chili flakes.

IMG_3697

–  Mix Soy Sauce, Red cooking wine,Chicken Stock,Honey,Sesame Seed Oil and cornstarch in small bowl, mix with fork until there are no lumps.
– In small pan combine oil,ginger,garlic and onions; and cook for about 3 minutes, then add in sauce mixture and let it thicken over time over low heat.


While the sauce is thickening  go a head and prep your sliced steak pieces I just do a basic seasoning of the strip steak, add some salt and pepper and Worcester sauce and throw it in another pan, cook both sides of steak strips for 3 mins or less.  take off the stove.

IMG_3698


Your Veggies
You can use as many different types of veggies that you want this is just what happened to be at the house
1 head of Broccoli
Bean Sprouts
1 Green Pepper
4 Green top carrots ( the big ones )
1/2 White onion

IMG_3696

I don’t measure out my veggies, I figure the more the merrier, chop up all of your freshly washed veg and put into large oiled wok ( or big pan which ever you have ) and place on high heat ( I personally like my veggies to have a little bit of a crunch when they are cooked ) cook over high heat for about 6-8 minutes, add a little bit of water mid way through about 2-3 tablespoons, then add your steak, cook until your veggies have become a wee bit dark , reduce your heat down to the lowest setting, and pour your sauce over the top and mix well,

IMG_3700

Serve over white rice and enjoy!!!
IMG_3706 IMG_3707

IMG_3702

Let me know what you guys think!!!! Also would you prefer for me to add photos of all of my ingredients before they are cooked?

Leave a Reply

